MOGenWeb Logo with link

Missouri State Flag with link

USGenWeb Logo with link

The Information on this Web page is provided "FREE" by The MOGenWeb Clark County Project.

History of Clark County Boundary

History of Clark County Boundary

  • 1849    The U. S. Supreme Court decision established the current Clark County boundary with the settlement of Iowa Territory boundary dispute (1).

  • 1838    The dispute with Iowa Territory by the northward extension of Clark County boundary “The Honey War”. This boundary was about nine miles north of current boundary (1).

  • 1837    By an act of the General Assembly the territory being in the form of a right-angled triangle, comprised the northeastern portion of what is now Scotland County, and embraced over one-third of the same was attached to Clark County for civil and military purposes (2).

  • 1836    By an act of the General Assembly of the state, entitled, “An act to organize the County of Clark.  Approved December 16. A. D., 1836.” (2)  This boundary is the current Clark County boundary.

  • 1833   Non-county area attachment changed from Marion County to Lewis County.(1)

  • 1826   Non-county area attachment changed from Ralls County to Marion County.  Marion County organize. (1)

  • 1822      Marion County (non-organize) from Ralls County attached to Ralls. (1)

  • 1821   Missouri admitted as state.  Ralls County from Howard County and Pike County. (1)

  • 1819    Pike County from Saint Charles non-county area.  Lincoln County from Saint Charles County. (1)

    Information is from.

    (1)    "Ani Map Plus County Boundary History Atlas” CD  The Gold Bug, P. O. Box 588, Alamo, CA 94507
    (2)   History of Lewis, Clark, Knox and Scotland Counties Missouri” 1887 The Goodspeed Publishing Co.

    This page last updated:   Sunday, March 16, 2008 13:04

  • Send questions and comments to Robert Hartman  and thanks for stopping by!

    Copyright 1998 - 2017 by Robert W. Hartman

    A Friend of MOGenWeb logo

    HOME Cemeteries Books Boards Boundary
    Potpourri Page Census Queries Index Clark Co. Maps and others Clay Township
    Des Moines Township Folker Township Grant Township Jackson Township Jefferson Township
    Lincoln Township Madison Township Sweet Home Township Union Township Vernon Township
    Washington Township Wyaconda Township Clark Co. Archives Clark Co Resources MO Resources
    USA Resources Other Resources History of Court Seat to 1872 some Cemetery Photo CLARK Co. Archives Biographical Index  
    Churchs of Clark County New Woodville Baptist Cemetery Index to People of Clark Co.